Play Ball!

Louisiana may not have a pro baseball franchise, but the Pelican State is dominant at the college level. Five teams from the state received seeds to the College Baseball World Series. Baton Rouge and Lafayette will each host regionals.


LSU took the eighth seed in the tourney. They also will host a regional Baton Rouge. Rice, Southeastern Louisiana and Utah Valley will also play in the double elimination regional. The Tigers kick it off against Utah Valley at 2p.m. on Friday. 


If the Purple n’ Gold are able to make it through the first round, they will also host the super regionals. The best-of-three portion of the tourney will see the winner of the Baton Rouge regional face wither NC State, Coastal Carolina, St. Mary’s, or Navy.


The University of Lafayette also took the top, host seed for a regional. Princeton, Sam Houston State and Arizona will all travel to Lafayette, but the Ragin Cajuns did not make the coveted top eight. If they were to advance, they would most likely be the traveling team. 


In fact, the group paired to meet up with the winner of the Lafayette regional in the super regional includes Louisiana Tech. Tech will need to overcome CSU Fullerton, Southeast Missouri, and favorites Mississippi State in Starkville, MS first.


Tulane also has a path to Omaha. The Wave will visit Oxford to compete against Ole Miss, Boston College, and Utah. 

Leave a Reply