| Overcast, 69 F (21 C)
| RSS | |



Arts · Politics · Crime
· Sports · Food ·
· Opinion · NOLA ·


Defender Picks


Gleason Wins Again

Steve Gleason’s football career may be over, but he continues to win awards. Today, the National Football League (NFL) awarded the Saints icon the George Halas Award for overcoming adversity and succeeding.


The Professional Football Writers of Association announced that Gleason is the 46th recipient of the annual honor on Monday (6.15) morning. 

The Saints’ safety gained fame for a blocked punt in 2006, which became a symbol for Who Dat victory and post-K recovery. Gleason announced that he was living with ALS in 2011, and his dedication to the cause has upped his Saints' hero status.


Team Gleason is an organization driven to spread public awareness for ALS, also known as Lou Gehrig’s disease. Team Gleason works to help give those with neuromuscular diseases or injuries access to leading edge technology, equipment and services; spark the global conversation about ALS to ultimately find a cure; and raise public understanding about ALS by documenting the astonishing lives of those with muscular diseases or injuries.


Saints kicker Tom Dempsey (1972) and current quarterback Drew Brees (2007) both won the award previously.

view counter
Advertise With Us Here
view counter
view counter
French Market
view counter
view counter
Erin Rose
view counter
view counter
view counter
Follow Us on Twitter
view counter


Renard Boissiere, Evan Z.E. Hammond, Naimonu James, Wilson Koewing, J.A. Lloyd, Nina Luckman, Dead Huey Long, Alexis Manrodt, Joseph Santiago, Andrew Smith, Cynthia Via, Austin Yde


Art Director

Michael Weber, B.A.


Listings Editor

Linzi Falk

Editor Emeritus

Alexis Manrodt

B. E. Mintz

Stephen Babcock

Published Daily