| Clear, 84 F (29 C)
| RSS | |



Arts · Politics · Crime
· Sports · Food ·
· Opinion · NOLA ·


Defender Picks



August 21st

Solar Eclipse Paddle

Canoe and Trail Adventures, 10:30AM

Explore the swamps and bayou during the eclipse


Energy Clearing Class

Swan River Yoga Mandir, 7:30PM

Solar eclipse reiki course to clear your self


Monday Night Massacre

Rare Form, 8PM

Feat. Phantom of Paradise and Cannibal The Musical


Betty Who

Republic NOLA, 9PM

90's tinged Aussie artist, feat. Geographer



The New Movement, 9:30PM

Battle of the funniest 


Instant Opus

Hi-Ho Lounge, 10PM

Feat. Eric Bloom, Russell Batiste, David Torkanowsky, Chris Severin


August 22nd

Murder Ballads

Euclid Records, 5PM

Book signing with Dan Auerbach and Gabe Soria


DIY Fermented Foods

Rosalie Apothecary, 7PM

Fermented dairies, like kefire, yogurt, butter, buttermilk, and more


Stanton Moore Trio

Snug Harbor, 8PM

Galactic drummer's side project


Water Seed

Blue Nile, 9PM

Future funk stars


Treme Brass Band

d.b.a., 9PM

See the legendary band on their home turf


Rebirth Brass Band

Maple Leaf, 10PM

2 sets by the Grammy-winning brass band


Smoking Time Jazz Club

Spotted Cat, 10PM

Trad jazz masters



August 23rd

Wine Down Wednesdays

New Orleans Jazz Museum, 6:30PM

Free yogalates at the Mint


The Heart of Herbalism

Rosalie Apothecary, 7PM

Syrups and immune health


Trapper Keeper

Side Bar, 8:30PM

Local improv music duo, feat. Dr. Jeff Albert



Bar Redux, 9PM

Free screening of junkie masterpiece


Chris & Tami

The New Movement, 9:30PM

TNM's founders perform weekly free show


Vixens & Vinyl

One Eyed Jacks, 10:30PM

Burlesque dance party


August 24th

Summertime Blues

Shops at Canal Place, 5:30PM

Young professionals meet-up with blues, brews, and BBQ


Architecture & Design Film Festival Kick-Off

Contemporary Arts Center, 5:30PM

Opening night party and film


Yoga Social Club

Crescent Park, 5:45PM

Get sweaty and centered


Ogden After Hours

Ogden Museum, 6PM

Feat. Sweet Olive String Band


Ambush Reggae Band

Gasa Gasa, 9PM

Local roots reggae group


Royal Teeth

Tipitina's, 9PM

Feat. Merci Raines and No True Scotsman


August 25th

Friday Nights at NOMA


Feat. The Pfister Sisters


Exotic Races

Fair Grounds, 5PM

Races feat. ostriches and camels


More Lovely and More Temperate

Valiant Theatre and Lounge, 6PM

Performance of all 154 Shakespearean sonnets


Lil' WeezyAna Fest

Champions Square, 7PM

Feat. Gucci Man, Rich the Kid, Kodie Shane, YoungBoy NBA, and Lil Wayne


Little Maker & Mr. Universe

One Eyed Jacks, 9PM

Feat. special tribute to The Band


Rocky Horror Picture Show

Prytania Theatre, 12AM

Feat. NOLA's foremost shadow cast The Well-Hung Speakers


August 26th

It's About TIME

Studio Be, 6PM

Artist conversation about oppression via symbols like the monuments


New Pride Pageant

Cafe Istanbul, 6PM

Honoring Mr & Miss New Orleans Pride 2017


New Orleans Saints vs. Houston Texans

SuperDome, 7PM

The Saints and Texans go head to head


Rick & Morty Marathon

Bar Redux, 9PM

Outdoor binge session for Dan Harmon's animated series


Swamp Motel

Gasa Gasa, 9PM

Album release party for Louisiana rockers


Vox & The Hound

One Eyed Jacks, 10PM

Pop group, feat. psych band Midriff and Naughty Palace

The Envelope Tease: NOFF Announces Winners

On Sunday (10.19), the New Orleans Film Festival announced the 2014 award winners. Top prize went to Thom Southerland’s Proud Citizen. Louisiana documentary darling, 61 Bullets, took home the Special Jury Award for Documentary Feature while sparking debate about Huey P. Long’s assassination. Click through for a full list of winners.


Jury Winner: Narrative Feature

$10,000 camera package from Panavision

Proud Citizen

director: Thom Southerland


Special Jury Award for Ensemble Cast: Narrative Feature

Love Land 

director: Joshua Tate


Narrative Features Jury: Effie T. Brown, Matt Grady, and Peter Knegt

Jury Winner: Documentary Feature

$1000 cash prize from the New Orleans Film Society, and two one-on-one 30-minute consultations: one with POV executive director Simon Kilmurry and one session with POV Vice President of Community Engagement & Education Eliza Licht. 

When the Bell Rings

director: Brad Bores


Special Jury Award: Documentary Feature

61 Bullets

directors: David Modigliani & Lucy Kreutz


Documentary Features Jury: N’Jeri Eaton, David Gelb, and Eugene Hernandez

Jury Winner: Louisiana Feature

$10,000 camera package from Panavision

Big Charity

director: Alex Glustrom


Special Jury Award: Louisiana Feature

Below Dreams

director: Garrett Bradley


Louisiana Features Jury: Chris Innis, Rebecca Snedeker, and Cameron Yates

Jury Winner: Narrative Short

$2500 in film stock from Kodak — Michael Brown from Kodak is here to present


director: Frances Bodomo


Special Jury Award: Narrative Short


director: Annie Silverstein

Narrative Shorts Jury: Bryan Buckley, Moira Griffin, and Roberta Munroe


Jury Winner: Documentary Short

$500 from the New Orleans Film Society

White Earth

director: J. Christian Jensen


Special Jury Award: Documentary Short

Le Taxidermiste

director: Prisca Bouchet & Nick Mayow


Documentary Shorts Jury: Christopher Campbell, Wendy Cohen, and Sari Gilman

Jury Winner: Louisiana Short

$10,000 post-production package rom Digital FX

Church in Black

director: Kenna J. Moore


Louisiana Shorts Jury: Angela Catalano, Peter Labuza, and Brian O’Hare

Helen Hill Jury Award for Animation

Prize: Toon Boom Storyboard Pro License, one-year license


director: Joshua Cox


Special Jury Award: Animation

Toon Boom Animate Software Package

The Box

director: Michael I Schiller


Animation Shorts Jury: Ken Keys, Mallory Martin, Matt Wisdom

Jury Winner: Experimental Short

$250 Prize from the New Orleans Film Society

Escape from Planet Tarr

director: Luigi Campi


Special Jury Award: Experimental Short

Infinite Now (Infinite Jetzt)

director: Julie Pfleiderer


Experimental Shorts Jury: Blake Carrington, Mary Kerr, and Lucas Leyva

Programmer’s Award for Artistic Vision


directors: Diane Hodson & Jasmine Luoma


Apex Post Award for Best Sound in a Louisiana Film

Bury Me $2500 Service Package from Apex Post


Apex Post Award for Best Sound in a Louisiana Film

Honorable Mention: (Short): The Veil ($500 Service package)


Apex Post Award for Best Sound in a Louisiana Film

Honorable Mention: Una Vida ($1,000 Service package)


Cinematography Award: Louisiana Narrative Feature

Below Dreams

Director: Garrett Bradley


Cinematographers: Brian C. Miller Richard, Milena Pastreich

Cinematography Award: Louisiana Narrative Short

Call Me Cappy

Director: Maja Holzinger

Cinematographer: Trenton Mynatt


Best Editing Award


Director: Damien Chazelle

Editor: Tom Cross

view counter
Advertise With Us Here
view counter
view counter
view counter
view counter
Follow Us on Facebook
view counter
view counter
view counter
view counter


Renard Boissiere, Evan Z.E. Hammond, Naimonu James, Wilson Koewing, J.A. Lloyd, Nina Luckman, Dead Huey Long, Joseph Santiago, Andrew Smith, Cynthia Via, Austin Yde


Art Director

Michael Weber, B.A.


Alexis Manrodt

Listings Editor

Linzi Falk

Editor Emeritus

B. E. Mintz

Editor Emeritus

Stephen Babcock

Published Daily