Search
| ,
| RSS | |

SECTIONS:

 

Arts · Politics · Crime
· Sports · Food ·
· Opinion · NOLA ·
Lagniappe

 
THE

Defender Picks

 

Cathedral Christmas Concerts Commence


In New Orleasn, music is religion. And once a year, that mantra becomes a littlle more literal. Christmas New Orleans Style's holiday concerts in the St. Louis Cathedral begin again tonight (12.1) and continue though December 20th.

 

Bruce Daigrepont will kick off the series with some Cajun offerings. The Pres Hall All-Stars and John Boutte will represent our native jazz scene. The St. Peter Claver Gospel Choir will snd organists from the St. Louis Cathedral Young Artist in Residence will provide some more traditional Christmas music. Elelven total shows will provide a little something for everyone.

 

All concerts start at 6 p.m. and last about an hour. Here's the full schedule:

  • Tuesday, December 1: Bruce Daigrepont's Cajun Christmas (Cajun)
  • Wednesday December 2: Preservation Hall All-Stars present a Creole Christmas (Trad Jazz) 
  • Sunday, December 6: John Boutte (Jazz-Variety) 
  • Monday December 7: Christmas Organ Spectacular by St. Louis Cathedral Young Artist in Residence (Classical) 
  • Wednesday, December 9: John Rankin (Classical) 
  • Sunday, December 13: Don Vappie (Jazz-Variety) 
  • Monday, December 14: St. Peter Claver Gospel Choir (Gospel)
  • Tuesday, December 15: Debbie Davis and Friends (Jazz-Variety) 
  • Wednesday, December 16: Opera Creole (Classical) 
  • Thursday December 17: Lena Prima (Jazz-Swing) 
  • Sunday December 20 (5:30): St. Louis Basilica Christmas Concert (Jazz)

 

For lagniappe, there will also be thee shows at St. Augustine's Church.

  • Saturday, December 5: Leroy Jones (Traditional Jazz)
  • Saturday, December 12: Evan Christopher (Traditional Jazz)
  • Saturday, December 19: Zion Harmonizers (Gospel) 

 




Erin Rose
view counter
Advertise With Us Here
view counter
view counter
view counter
Follow Us on Facebook
view counter
view counter
view counter
French Market
view counter
view counter


Contributors

Renard Boissiere, Evan Z.E. Hammond, Naimonu James, Wilson Koewing, J.A. Lloyd, Nina Luckman, Dead Huey Long, Alexis Manrodt, Joseph Santiago, Andrew Smith, Cynthia Via, Austin Yde

Photographers


Art Director

Michael Weber, B.A.

Editor


Listings Editor

Linzi Falk

Editor Emeritus

Alexis Manrodt


B. E. Mintz


Stephen Babcock

Published Daily