Search
| Overcast, 45 F (7 C)
| RSS | |

SECTIONS:

 

Arts · Politics · Crime
· Sports · Food ·
· Opinion · NOLA ·
Lagniappe

 
THE

Defender Picks

 

28 Days, 28 Exhibits at Magazine Street Gallery


by Brad Rhines

A series of one-night stands on Magazine Street this month gives Uptown residents something to talk about, as the new Salon Gallery brings a bohemian touch to the bars-and-boutiques corridor. The One Series, a contemporary art exhibition that showcases “one work from one artist for one day is the kind of innovative, intriguing premise that seems more at home on St. Claude than on Magazine, but curators Kathy Rodriguez, Emily Farranto, and Natalie Sciortino-Rinehart hope to move the contemporary art conversation Uptown, at least for a few weeks.

 

Starting on June 1, the gallery will host 28 exhibitions in 28 days and hold a nightly opening reception that’s not the usual wine-and-cheese affair. Artists participating in The One Series will be bringing or sending work from all over the world, including cities like New York, Toronto, and Berlin. Many of these artists have never shown their work in New Orleans, and those that have shown in the city haven’t done so in years.

 

Every evening from 6:00 to 8:00, the gallery will host a gathering intended to elicit critical conversation and meaningful dialogue about the work. The co-curators ask that gallery-goers stay for as much of the two hour reception as they can and share their thoughts with other participants. Guests are invited to bring drinks or other contributions to the evening receptions.

 

“We're trying to evolve multiple perspectives on this ‘new-to-NOLA’ work, and I certainly feel the more, the merrier,” Rodriguez told NoDef, “but with the focus on the discussion rather than the socializing—though socializing is indeed part of it too.”

 

Scroll down for the full schedule of artists, and check out the Salon Gallery - which is located at 4432 Magazine St. - on Facebook for more information.  

 

SESSION 1

June 1: Constanze Flamme / photography  / constanzeflamme.de/INTRO.html
June 2: Zane Stucker  / painting
June 3: Allyn Stewart / small books
June 4: Jess Pinkham / photography / jesspinkham.com/
June 5: Brad Allen / sculpture and installation / www.umt.edu/art/faculty-staff/allen/gallery
June 6: Lara Schaberg / scroll painting / laraschaberg.blogspot.com/
June 7: James Bailey  / print / www.umt.edu/art/faculty-staff/bailey/gallery
June 8: Kensuke Yamada  / ceramic figurative sculpture / www.yamadakensuke.com
June 9: Yasser Aggour / photography / momentaart.org
June 10: Z Behl / drawing / www.zbehl.com
 

 

SESSION 2
June 11:
Daniel Atyim  / painting / atyim.com
June 12: Bobby Tilton / sculpture / bobbytilton.com
June 13: Sarah McCoubrey  / painting and installation
June 14: Joe Andoe  / painting / www.joeandoe.com
June 15: Edgar Smith  / painting and installation / www.edgarsmithart.com
June 16: Nicole Zehr  / painting / nicolezehr.com
June 17: Claudia Cannizzaro / fibers and installation / www.claudiacannizzaro.com
June 18: Katie McMullin
June 19: Jill Olm  / painting and drawing / www.uwec.edu/Art/staff/olm/work.htm
 

 

SESSION 3
June 20
: Andrew Hotis  / painting and drawing / andrewhotis.blogspot.com
June 21: David Politzer  / video / www.davideology.com
June 22: Sarah Marshall  / print / www.sarahmarshall.com
June 23: Patty Zuver  / painting and print / pattybleuenbleu.blogspot.com
June 24: Eva Champagne / ceramic sculpture / www.eva-champagne.com
June 25: Lara Bullock  / curator and artist / www.larabullock.com
June 26: Nathalie Shepherd  / design / www.nathalieshepherd.com
June 27: Kendall Mingey  / mixed media sculpture / www.kendallmingey.com
June 28: Kim Waale / sculpture and installation / www.kimwaale.com

June 30: Closing reception with curators




Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
view counter
view counter
view counter
Advertise With Us Here
view counter
view counter
view counter
Follow Us on Facebook
view counter
view counter
Mardi Gras Zone
view counter


Contributors

Renard Boissiere, Evan Z.E. Hammond, Naimonu James, Wilson Koewing, J.A. Lloyd, Nina Luckman, Dead Huey Long, Alexis Manrodt, Joseph Santiago, Andrew Smith, Cynthia Via, Austin Yde

Photographers


Art Director

Michael Weber, B.A.

Editor


Listings Editor

Linzi Falk

Editor Emeritus

Alexis Manrodt


B. E. Mintz


Stephen Babcock

Published Daily